Milk is an unhealthy food that is unnatural for the human body. Everyone is at some level intolerant to it. But there are some who have a more severe problem with it. If you are described as `lactose intolerant` it means you lack the enzyme `lactase` needed to break down milk sugar, or `lactose`. People who are lactose intolerant often get bloating, indigestion and diarrhea when drinking and eating milk products. Other digestive illnesses which result in a generalized reduction of digestive enzymes can also lead to the development of food intolerances including milk.
If you are Lactose Intolerant, Avoid the Following Foods
Foods which contain lactose which must be avoided include: milk, cream, butter, cheese, fromage frais, ice cream, milk powder, condensed milk, buttermilk, custard, most margarines. Some biscuits, cakes, breads (and mixes), sauces, soups, dressings, sausages, luncheon meats, tea/coffee whiteners, malt drinks, chocolate. Avoid any packaged foods, including tins, which contain milk solids, skimmed milk, milk proteins, and non-fat milk” these are all milk products. Unfortunately goat and sheep products contain lactose too.
What is a Milk Allergy?
A milk allergy is different from being lactose intolerant. It means your immune system is not tolerant of certain proteins found in milk products – it has nothing to do with missing digestive enzymes. These proteins are called allergens if a person reacts to them; the commonest one in milk and milk products is called casein. Common symptoms are digestive problems, catarrh, skin rashes, lethargy, irritability, blocked nose, sinus problems and excessive mucous production. Most people have a milkallergy to some degree or another.
Foods for People who are Lactose Intolerant
*If you are lactose intolerant you may be able to tolerate fermented cow dairy products such as yoghurt, cottage cheese or lassi (Indian yoghurt drink). This is because they contain `friendly` bacteria which breakdown lactose saving you the trouble.
*A small amount of organic butter can also be tolerated well by many who are lactose intolerant
*Lactose intolerant people can usually also tolerate micro-filtered whey and whey protein isolate products because the lactose has been filtered out.
*Other dairy alternatives which can be used include Tofu, nut milks, and rice and coconut milks. Unfortunately sheep and goat products contain lactose so they need to be avoided.
What must you avoid if Milk Intolerant?
If you have a milk allergy you need to avoid all the foods classified as containing lactose above as well as all butter, yoghurt, cottage cheese, lassi, whey and whey related products. Goat and sheep products however are OK as they contain only trace amounts of casein.
*Use oat, rice or hemp milk with cereals. Add cinnamon and a splash of apple juice to flavor. You can also make a healthy smoothie with fruit and super foods.
*Use hummus, guacamole or nut butters such as almond or cashew instead of butter.
*Use olive oil, palm oil or coconut oil to cook with instead of butter
*Use coconut milk in a Thai green curry or in smoothies.
* Fresh nuts and seeds, almonds, cashews, hazelnuts, pecans, and sunflower and pumpkin seeds.
*All fruit and vegetables are naturally dairy-free great snacks.
*Tahini is a sesame seed based spread which can be found in health food shops and some supermarkets as an alternative to butter.
*Quinoa Milk – is another milk alternative
- Whey Protein Dangers And Side Effects
- Gold Standard Whey Protein: Bulk Up The Right Way!
- Yoplait Diet And Its Benefits
- The Best Whey Protein Reviews
- Common Dairy Allergy Symptoms
- Best Protein Shakes For Women
- Importance of Goat’s Milk
- Milk Protein Linked to Autism, Schizophrenia, Diabetes and Heart Disease